Company history

Delivering just-in-time, quality & customized solutions

These are the assets with which BSS is convincing its customers for more than three decades now. BSS has its roots in the locksmith's trade, which is the secret of our success - not only on the national market of metal building, but also on an international scale. We realize demanding major projects, as well as the wishes of private builder-owners: your wish is our command. Since traditional crafts are the foundation of our business, we perform every order with equal care - no matter whether it is a large or small project.

BSS was founded in 1969. In that year, master mechanical engineer Rudi Scharf took over a small locksmith's workshop in the town of Lemgo, situated in the Lippe region of Germany. Being the founder, Mr Scharf did not limit himself to the local market but from the very beginning sought to expand to national level. Owing to an order involving interior fittings placed by the Maritim hotel chain, BSS successfully established itself in the major object business in 1972. From that time onwards, the Maritim Hotels of Cologne, Hanover Airport, Kiel, Gelsenkirchen, Timmendorf and Bad Wildungen have been shaped significantly by BSS. And many Deutsche Bank objects both, home and abroad, have been fitted with high-grade steel and glass by BSS.

Another important step was taken in 1980, when BSS ventured its first steps in window and front construction. At that time BSS started producing its own aluminium windows. Schüco International KG, a company from Bielefeld, Germany, has been delivering the profiles ever since. Moreover, BSS is extremely competent when it comes to high-grade steel processing, a fact which attracted the attention of German dockyard industry. At the beginning of the 1980s, the interior fittings of passenger ships became more and more important, leading to (in 1985) a close co-operation between BSS and Meyer Werft, a dockyard in Papenburg, Germany, building the world's largest luxury liners.

In 2000, the founder's son, master metal engineer Thomas Scharf, took over smoothly the management of BSS, thus ensuring continuity and expertise. The BSS production plant, situated in the industrial estate of Lemgo-Lieme, extends over 8,300 m2. Thanks to sophisticated logistics, the components required for house fronts and interior fittings are delivered to the appropriate building sites right after production.
Since 1.04.2010 Thomas Scharf is the sole owner and manager.

nach oben

Unternehmensgeschichte

Termintreue, Qualität, individuelle Lösungen

Seit mehr als vier Jahrzehnten überzeugt BSS seine Kunden durch diese Tugenden. BSS hat seine Wurzeln im Schlosserhandwerk, die uns heute Standfestigkeit im nationalen und internationalen Metallbaugeschäft geben. Wir realisieren anspruchsvolle Großobjekte ebenso wie wir die Wünsche privater Bauherren erfüllen. Handwerkliche Tradition heißt für uns auch, dass wir jeden Auftrag – egal ob groß oder klein – mit der gleichen Gewissenhaftigkeit behandeln.

Die Gründung von BSS geht auf das Jahr 1969 zurück. Damals übernahm der Maschinenbaumeister Rudi Scharf eine kleine Schlosserei in der lippischen Stadt Lemgo. Der Gründer beschränkte sich nicht auf den lokalen Markt, sondern suchte von Anfang an die Expansion im nationalen Geschäft. Durch einen Innenausbau-Auftrag der Hotel-Kette Maritim gelang BSS schon 1972 der Einstieg ins Großobjektgeschäft. Seither tragen die Maritim-Hotels in Timmendorf, Köln, Kiel, Gelsenkirchen, Hannover Airport und Bad Wildungen die Handschrift von BSS. Viele Objekte der Deutschen Bank im In- und Ausland sind von BSS mit Edelstahl und Glas ausgebaut worden.

Eine weitere wichtige Zäsur bildet das Jahr 1980, in dem die Ära des Fenster- und Fassadenbaus begann. Zu dieser Zeit nahm BSS die Produktion eigener Aluminiumfenster auf. Lieferant der Profile war und ist die Bielefelder Schüco International KG. Daneben besitzt BSS hohe Kompetenz in der Verarbeitung von Edelstahl, eine Fähigkeit, die die Aufmerksamkeit der deutschen Werftindustrie fand. Anfang der 80er Jahre gewann der Innenausbau von Passagierschiffen an Bedeutung und seit 1985 kooperiert BSS auf das Engste mit der Meyer Werft in Papenburg, die die größten Luxus-Liner der Welt baut.

Im Jahr 2000 übernahm der Sohn des Gründers, Metallbau-Meister Thomas Scharf, die Führung von BSS. Der reibungslose Übergang sichert Kontinuität und Kompetenz. Die Produktionsstätte im Gewerbegebiet Lemgo-Lieme erstreckt sich über 8.300 Quadratmeter. Eine ausgefeilte Logistik sorgt dafür, dass die Komponenten für Fassaden und Innenausbau nach der Produktion sofort an die Baustellen geliefert werden.
Seit dem 1. April 2010 ist Thomas Scharf alleiniger Inhaber und Geschäftsführer.

nach oben